Minnesota March

It is March 8 of our first winter in Minnesota. The official winter months of December, January, and February are past with a record breaking year of snowfall. Unfortunately, Stephen’s idea of building a snowman that doesn’t melt when the sun comes out hasn’t yet come to pass. It is too cold here to build a snowman; the snow simply won’t stick together. We have done some ice skating, fort digging, drawing with light sabers in the snow, and of course a lot of shoveling and snow plowing. We’ve managed one good sled outing. The older boys had a great time. Gabriel cried until he finally fell asleep face down in the sled. Overall we have enjoyed winter here. The snow is pretty, the roads well managed, and our house well insulated. We have repeatedly this year expressed a greater awareness of gratitude for a warm home and food to eat.

But March is now here. The temperatures in our former state of Alabama have reached the 70s and flowers are blooming. Here, the high for the week is in the 30s and snow still in the forecast much of the week. Going somewhere with 5 children is still a 20 minute process of putting on coats, shoes, etc. We have stayed healthy all winter until the last 3 weeks when someone has been sick most of the time, and I am now ready for spring to come. But I still have probably a month to go.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for everything under heaven.” I love the change of seasons. I can’t imagine living someplace that the weather was always the same and if we ever move away from the north, I will miss the snow. As my impatience for spring wakes, I am reminded every season has its own benefits and drawbacks (I just killed the first spider in the house after months of not seeing a single bug). We don’t get to choose the length of the seasons of our lives, or the variant weather in them. But every season has its joys along with its difficulties, and the end of each brings with it something new. So, as much as I look forward to warm weather and trail hiking and digging in the dirt, I will try to enjoy each day I have now and hopefully pass on to my children the importance of not wishing away their days.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Minnesota March

  1. Debbie says:

    I think this is a good idea, Wendy. I will certainly look forward to sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

