Hard Questions

I was watching a video of footage on the destruction left by the Alabama tornados this week and the boys came up and watched some. We have a children’s story that came in the mail called “Holler Loudly” about a little boy with a loud voice that annoyed everyone until one day a tornado came. The boy hollered so loudly that it scared the tornado away. Until this week, this was the boys’ impression of tornadoes. These were the comments and questions that followed seeing the piles of wood and rubble: “How did the tornado knock all those things down?” A tornado is a lot of very strong wind that can do that.  “I didn’t know tornadoes could kill people.” Yes, they can. “Where did the tornado come from?” I confess I paused at this, because I knew where it would lead and I didn’t have an answer. I answered with a question of my own: “Who makes the wind and the rain and the sun?” The answer: “God does. Why did God make the tornado?” I don’t know. The conversation moved on until later when the subject came back up along with questions about the boy in the book. “That book is just a story about using quiet and loud voices. You can’t stop a tornado by being loud. No one can stop a tornado,” I said. “Yes,” answered Isaac, “God can stop a tornado.”  Yes he can. But he didn’t. And though some will try to explain it with explanations that seem unfounded to me, I have no explanation of these things to give my children as we pray for God’s provision and comfort for those from whom, for whatever reason, he has taken away people and things precious to them.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hard Questions

  1. Granddaddy says:

    There are a lot of grownups asking those questions too I guess. I sure don’t have the answers either.

Leave a Reply

