A trip to the Twin Cities

Today we got to take a field trip to the Como Zoo in Minneapolis with my friend Lucy and her three children. I took along the camera, but since it was a rainy morning and I (uncharacteristically) packed along the raincoats and diapers I decided not to carry anything else. We thought since it was a rainy morning it wouldn’t be too crowded, but the long line of school buses and full parking lot showed we were mistaken. Other than the crowd, it turned out to be a perfect day for it. We made a lunch of graham crackers, raisins, and summer sausage in the picnic area (which we learned was for reservations only) and our eight children played happily in the children’s room while Lucy and I got to talk. We left there to go to Lucy’s house where my children happily played in the backyard while Lucy and I drank the best iced tea I’ve ever had and Lucy’s children took an amazingly long nap of which I can’t help being a bit envious.  Lucy’s yard has two claims to fame–a swing set with monkey bars across the top that you can climb on top of and a swing tied way up in a tree that allows you to swing over the fence. The monkey bars proved a bit tricky. Stephen climbed across to the other side only to find as he hung feet down and elbows locked that he couldn’t reach the ladder to get down. He was very calmly trying to find a solution to his predicament when I noticed his precarious position. The swing was a lot of fun and as they hung there and sat contentedly even after the swing had stopped, I couldn’t help but think that would be such a nice thing to have when I needed to keep them still and out of mischief. Since we don’t have any tall trees, I’m thinking of hanging five of these swings from the eave of the house.

This picture is compliments of Lucy.

And here is the famous swing! (taken on the phone camera)

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A trip to the Twin Cities

  1. Granddaddy says:

    Hey! Sounds like a fun day. Been missing the blog. Glad to see it back in action. 🙂

Leave a Reply

