Reflections on tornados

As we drove into Birmingham Tuesday we saw a lot of trees down and light poles folded over on themselves.

“That is from the tornado,” I said.

“Why did God make the tornado?” Stephen asked.

“I don’t know,” I answered.

Isaac was thoughtful for a moment and then said, “Maybe he decided he made too much stuff.” He paused again and said, “We don’t always know why God does what he does.”

He said this with such an easy acceptance. There are many verses in the Bible that are easy to accept. Then there are others like this one, which in light of things like this are a bit harder: “The Lord is in the heavens and does whatever he pleases.” But tonight as I write this, I am reminded by the straightforward thinking of my 6 year old that this is God’s world, he made it, and just because I don’t understand what he does doesn’t make him unkind. Just after the tornadoes Isaac and I read from Job some and these verses stuck out to me from chapter 42:

Then Job replied to the LORD:  “I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted. You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?’ Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know. You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’ My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you.  Therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes.”

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

