The Sweet Sound of Laughter

This morning I left the boys home with their Gran and went to browse the thrift store all by myself. I really didn’t need anything, but it is a fun place to browse. I came home with Twister which the boys were eager to try. Their Gran showed them how to play and the laughter and giggles which followed was a beautiful sound. Of course the boys giggle a pretty good bit and I love to hear them, but the thing that struck me most was hearing their Gran laughing with them.

I don’t laugh a lot. Sometimes something will strike me particularly funny and I laugh a hard tear-bringing laugh, but that isn’t frequent. Shortly after Adam and I were married we were discussing which of us was more serious. We both thought it was the other, so we called a friend who knew us well to get an outside opinion. She didn’t have to think for anytime at all. She said most definitely me. And she is right. Adam loves to laugh and does so without restraint, much to the amusement of his co-workers when he hears or reads something funny during his lunch break. As I listened from the other room and heard them all laughing together it made me want to laugh more with my children. Some days it seems are filled with instruction and discipline and taking care of needs and of course those things are not to be neglected, but perhaps they would be easier if we sometime just sat down together and did something that would make us laugh. So in that spirit, when we went out to play outside and the boys were complaining of the heat, we got out the water hose and I joined them in spraying each other with the hose. And while I’m not sure if I laughed, we did have a lot of fun.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

