Doctor Visits

This week has been filled with visits to the doctor. Monday morning the boys and I headed off to the dentist. I sincerely feel our neighbor Sue should receive free dental care for the year for referring us. Who else schedules five new patient dentist appointments? It was a good day for the boys. They were in a good mood and even Gabriel, who is often still a bit shy around strangers, cooperated beautifully. It helped that there was a nice play area in the waiting room where they could occupy themselves while I completed the novel that comes with five new patient appointments. I am happy to report none of them had any cavities. I was greatly relieved at this since oral hygiene is not my strongest parenting skill. (I was not so fortunate and will be going back to the dentist in July.) The boys were delighted at getting to pick not one, but four prizes each and I very much appreciated the effort of the staff to ensure they each got the same number of prizes and that they all had different color toothbrushes. Besides the toys prizes, they were also rewarded with gift certificates for free kids’ meals at three different restaurants, including Space Aliens (which is like Chuckie Cheese, but not as loud). As it was lunch time when we finished, we stopped at Space Aliens on the way home and enjoyed their free meals and game tokens. Here are Stephen and Gabriel below.

Monday evening found Gabriel and I at the after-hours clinic due to his 104 degree fever and sore throat. I had given him some Motrin prior to going which brought his fever down to a comfortable 102 degrees and he was much happier. We waited a long time in the waiting room. He’d bring me magazines to look at and when we finished we traded. He encouraged me several times, “Me better now. Me ready to go home.” (I think he was remembering the Penicillin shot he got the last time I took him to the doctor.) Once in the exam room we read a story about an alligator under a boy’s bed twice which was very entertaining. Then we went back through the book so he could name everything he knew in Arabic. After seeing the doctor we went the lab for a strep culture and waited some more in the hallway for the results. We passed the time playing the game where you try to give the other person “five” before they pull their hands away. His giggles filled the hallway. As we were leaving (with a negative strep test and no shot), one of the nurses said, “I’ll miss his laugh. That made my day.”

Today we journeyed to Minnetonka, near Minneapolis, for Stephen to see the orthopedic doctor about his toe-walking. Our appointment was right at lunch time which was very poor planning on my part. In the waiting room, a young teenage girl adopted the boys, playing with them and reading them stories while I completed more new patient paper work. They were sorry to leave her when we were called back, and I was sorry too and found myself wishing I had invited her to the exam room with us where they were less than quiet and cooperative while I talked to the nurse and the doctor.  The end result was encouraging though–the doctor felt his toe-walking was more habitual than anything and didn’t feel surgery or botox injections were needed. In the fall, after we have enjoyed our precious few months of nice weather, we will get him fitted for foot braces that he will wear under his shoes (yea for no big velcro boots!) for four months and taper off from there as we are able. In the car on the way home I asked if he was glad he didn’t have to have surgery like Isaac had. He said, “Well, I don’t really know since I have never had surgery.  But I remember Isaac ate macaroni at the hospital.”  I assured him if he wanted when we went in September to get fitted for the braces I would make him macaroni when we got home and he was happy with this. I asked Isaac if Stephen should  be glad he didn’t have to have surgery. His answer: “Yes because I couldn’t really do anything. All I could do was sit, sit, sit.”

Hopefully we are done with appointments for a while.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Visits

  1. Yeah I have to take my two to the dentist and I’m really not looking forward to it. Where did you take the boys when you livedmdown here?

Leave a Reply

