Our first race

Today the three older boys and I had a first together–we ran a race. The boys have been very excited about running a race since we watched Adam run his this spring. As part of the Waite Park city festival there was a 1K fun run and a 5K trail run that started just down the street from our house, so the four of us signed up. The boys did a lot of training, running circles around the house and having me time them. Isaac, yesterday, did an impressive 29 laps around the house without stopping. We discussed a lot of things ahead of time which we talked about for their benefit, but I found myself reviewing them as well while I ran.

What do you do if you get tired?  You keep running.

What do you do if you fall down? You get up and keep running.

The boys did terrific and finished their 1K in about 7 minutes and 30 seconds. They stuck together and didn’t seem too apprehensive about being that far from us.  They were rewarded at the end with a t-shirt and a coupon for ice-cream.

My race followed theirs. We started off and I quickly was left behind the fast runners. I was hoping to find someone close to my pace, but as the race went on and we approached the first mile they had pulled ahead and I ran the rest of the race in solitude.  I was hoping they had forgotten to mark the second mile and that the next marker I would be for mile 3, but alas it was only mile 2. I pressed on, reviewing the boys’ lessons of not quitting when you were tired and finished in a little over 31 minutes, with Adam and the boys cheering for me at the finish line.

Overall it was a nice way to spend a Saturday morning and the boys are eager to do it again.  Inspired by my aunt Lynne who decided she would run a marathon before she was 60, I have set a few running goals for myself: 2 5Ks before my 33rd birthday, a 10K before my 34th birthday, a half marathon by my 36th birthday, and a marathon before I’m 40.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our first race

  1. Robin Been says:

    Way to go Isaac, Stephen & Jack!!! Way to go Wendy. I love your running goals. Are you enjoying running more or hoping the love or funning will come the more you get into it? I still can’t say I love it but do definitely enjoy it more than I did! Not quite in line with your goals – my 1/2 marathon will be while I’m 36 but not before that birthday.

Leave a Reply

