Strawberry picking

I think for me the arrival of strawberries has always marked the coming of warmer weather. I remember going to pick berries with my mom when I was younger and the boys and I have made several trips in the past couple of years. The farmers I’m sure were laughing at me when I called in April to find out when strawberries would be ready. The season has come and gone in Birmingham and even in Owensboro, KY where my parents live. Finally on Sunday when I called to see if they were ready, I received with joy the news that they would begin picking the next day.  Monday was a busy day for us, but Tuesday, in spite of the threat of thunderstorms, we headed out for the strawberry patch. Unlike previous picking where I was in shorts and a tank top, this time I was in jeans and long sleeves, which was actually nice because the straw and strawberry plants didn’t make me itch. The berries where plentiful and the older boys enjoyed the picking. Sebastian sat in his stroller and tried his first strawberry, which ended up mostly on his face, arms, legs, and clothes. Gabriel stuck close and instructed me in whether the berries should be put in my basket or his. After instructing him to put them gently in his basket, I accidentally dropped one in and was quickly corrected by a small voice saying, “No Momma, don’t drop the berries.” We ventured out again yesterday, this time taking our neighbor Emily along. Yesterday was sunnier and warmer and the boys didn’t enjoy picking so much but played beside the field with Emily. Sebastian however has decided strawberries are very much to this liking and ended up sitting in the row in front of me munching on berries as fast as he could and leaving me with the challenge of keeping the picked berries in the basket and the green berries on the vines. He passed out in the car on the way home, again covered in strawberry juice. Altogether we picked about thirty-five pounds of berries in the two trips combined and have enjoyed the freshness of spring and stored up some berries to eat in the winter months to remind us of warmer days.

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

