New Rooms

Well, I have rearranged the boys’ rooms, again. This is only the third time in ten months. Perhaps it is a hopeless battle to gain a peaceful bedtime and a full night of sleep, but it is one that I continue to fight. Most mornings come with at least one if not multiple children asleep in the living room outside my bedroom door, which if they would just lie down there and go to sleep would be okay but they feel compelled to wake me first. And bedtime is a regular party downstairs and I think they take a vote to see who will risk coming upstairs to see what Adam and I are doing, usually with a lame excuse for being out of bed given in a pitiful voice while trying not to laugh. So the division has been made and for the first time in their lives, the twins now have separate bedrooms. Gabriel has graduated out of the toddler bed (though he is still on the mattress until we get a new one) and is on the bottom bunk and Stephen is above him. Isaac has moved under Jack in their set of beds in the downstairs room. Sebastian is for now in with Gabriel and Stephen. My goal is to get Gabriel, Sebastian, and Jack in bed while giving the twins the privilege of a slightly later bedtime with the hopes that they will fall asleep before the twins go to bed.

Last night didn’t work out very well. We didn’t get the first set in bed early so they all went to bed at the same time. Stephen and Gabriel had a great time playing together and were still making appearances when I left them to Adam and went to go visit with the neighbors. The night was not peaceful at all with two boys ending up sleeping in the bathrooms after getting sick in their beds and another up coughing. I think I was up at least eight times. Thankfully the NyQuil I took before bed let me easily fall back asleep. Tonight everyone quieted down pretty well I think, though I’m not sure whether I can credit that to the sleeping arrangements or the fevers. At any rate, the boys seem to like their new rooms.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

