Gaining Independence

The boys and I recently took a trip to Rockford, Illinois to meet up with my parents so they could take the older boys home with them for a week. We headed off just after breakfast and had a successful trip, arriving at the hotel a couple of hours prior to Mom and Dad. Not wanting to entertain five children in a hotel, we headed off to find a playground. It took some driving around, but we were not disappointed. We ended up at a playground deluxe, complete with sandbox, toddler area, and a lot of fun playground equipment. Sebastian crawled around everywhere, all the older ones played on the slides and climbed the equipment, but my proud moment was watching them play with other children and not gluing themselves to my side. I took this picture from the swing set where I was pushing Sebastian. I didn’t zoom on purpose so you can see how far away they ventured.

Jack, of course, took a break from his own play to care for Sebastian. Gabriel too engaged him in a game of peak-a-boo, which unfortunately ended with Sebastian laughing a bit too hard and falling off the tree house. He was no worse for wear.

 

The sandbox was also a big hit though perhaps not too well-timed. This is the condition of my children when Mom and Dad called to say they had arrived and were ready to meet for dinner.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gaining Independence

  1. Looks like you had fun! Sometimes I wish mine would stay a little more glued to my leg 🙂

Leave a Reply

