Check-ups

This week we went for Gabriel’s 3 year check-up and Jack’s 5 year check-up. I confess I was slightly anxious over this visit, since I knew it would mean several shots and the last time Gabriel had shots it took nearly the entire day to recover. Every time he looked at his legs he would tear up and cry that it didn’t make him better. To his defense, that shot was Penicillin for strep throat so he was feeling badly already.

I am happy to report today’s visit was much better. Jack weighed in at 40 pounds even, measured at 43 3/4 inches tall, and was asked twice today if he was the oldest of the group. He teared up with his 4 shots but quickly recovered before Gabriel was on the table to get his. He passed his hearing and eye tests with no trouble and thought it great fun to pee in a cup to leave in a little door over the toilet.

I heard something today I have never heard at a well-child visit before. After looking at Gabriel’s growth curve, which was not much of a curve at all, but had more the appearance of a Mount Everest climb and hearing me say Gabriel was a picky eater and often didn’t eat, the doctor informed me it was fine for him to miss a meal or two. He weighed 34.2 pounds and is 37 inches tall. Even he may soon rival the twins, who at the last weight I remember were a whole 36 pounds. His eye test left a bit to be desired as  he replied to each picture with, “I don’t know.” Whether or not he can’t see the pictures or didn’t want to play this game was never determined.

I am still holding out for a cure for selective hearing and getting up in the middle of the night.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

