Travels

The house has been completely rearranged, I organized and priced no longer needed children’s items and worked all last Saturday at a children’s consignment sale, and we have packed and traveled from Minnesota to my parent’s house in Kentucky arriving shortly after 11:00 last night. As usually, the boys travelled well. We passed the hours listening to music and audio books. To give an indication of the journey’s length, we listened to all of Charlotte’s Web (read by E.B. White himself), all of Stuart Little, and the first seven chapters of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. We started the later around 8:00 in the evening, and thinking the boys would fall asleep I stopped after the end of each chapter to ensure they were still awake so they wouldn’t miss the story. (The younger boys didn’t last long, but Isaac and Stephen were very attentive.) Along about chapter four I heard long sighs from the back seat. Stephen informed me he was sighing so that I would know they were still awake and wouldn’t keep stopping the story. The cutest comment was from Isaac: “I feel like I’m watching a movie, there is just no picture.” the trip was long and we were tired, but it was an enjoyable trip. Stay tuned for the next report. Tomorrow will be the boy’s first trip to an amusement park! For now, it is 8:30 and I am ready for bed. Good night!

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment