Holiday World

 

 

Yesterday was a big day. Leaving Sebastian home with a babysitter, Mom, Dad, and I packed up the four older boys and took them on their first adventure to an amusement park. We started with a nice sedate ride, driving the old Model T cars. I remember driving these when I was young, but I don’t remember the gas pedal being so hard to press. The boys were not able to move it at all and my leg was cramping by the time we were finished and I was glad for the ride to be over. The grown-ups all agreed that it is good the boys won’t be getting their driver’s license for some time as they have no concept of steering with a wheel.

Next we rode the ride that to me always looks like an octopus. I have not yet learned the name of it and probably never will. It was with some trepidation that I boarded the ride with Jack (who is prone to motion sickness) and Gabriel (who is three and you never know how he’ll act with new things like this). Isaac and Stephen boarded with Grandpa and Nonie heroically volunteered to watch and take pictures. The ride went pretty well. Gabriel did a good bit of panicked screaming as we swung and tipped onto our backs and around in circles. Jack spent the ride trying to console Gabriel and I am glad to say suffered no motion sickness.

The highlight of Gabriel’s day was the carousel which he rode at least nalf a dozen times. It was not so much the animals that fascinated him (though he was glad when he finally got to ride the zebra he had been eyeing) as much as the mechanism that raised and lowered the animals.

Isaac and Stephen’s favorite ride was the Revolution, a circle that spins fast enough so the centrifugal force hold you in place and then lifts sideways . We rode this three times in a row and by the third time I think I could feel my heart shifting in my chest with every turn.

We visited the water log ride, stopping to ask how wet we would get before going, as the day was on the cool side. The lady said, “You’ll probably get a little wet.” After a nice spray, Isaac and Stephen declared themselves “soaking wet” but apparently didn’t mind since we rode it twice more. By the end we were rather damp and shed the long sleeved wet shirts in favor of being dry.

I have asked Jack several times what his favorite ride was, and I don’t think I ever got an answer. He enjoyed most of the rides with his usual enthusiasm, occasionally didn’t like one and sat out the next time, but overall had a great time.

Isaac summed it up after the third or fourth ride saying, “Momma, all of the cool things are a little bit dangerous.”. I must say, it was a stretch for me to ride a few of them, but so worth it to hear the giggles and happy shrieks coming from the sweet boys beside me.

Surprisingly no one slept on the trip home, though it was the fastest anyone has gone to sleep at bedtime in quite some time.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

