All Saint’s Saturday

Today Jack, Gabriel, Sebastian and I drove to the cities to celebrate All Saint’s Day at church. We started with some singing and then were led on a journey through the church to hear the story of salvation. We started in the dark stairwell and heard the words read about God in the beginning of time. We watched a slide show as we heard how God made the world and visited the Garden where Adam and Eve walked with God and disobeyed. We heard of the flood and the wickedness that filled the earth and how God saved Noah and his family. We journeyed to Egypt where the Israelites were slaves. The children were commanded by Pharoah to build things out of bricks. Perhaps some were coached ahead of time but their were a lot of cries from the children and the news that God had heard their groanings and was going to deliver them was good news indeed. We went through the Red Sea.  Then we jumped ahead in time to hear of the baby that was born to save the people from their sins. We travelled to the cross and listened as the remarkable story was told of how Jesus died to save us, conquering sin, and how he rose from the dead and conquered death. We walked under the cross, for it is the way we must go to received the sacrament of baptism and the coming of the Holy Spirit into our lives.  Each child was marked with a cross on their foreheads and told they have been marked as Christ’s own forever. The sweetness of Gabriel repeating those words to himself over and over and touching my head and saying those words to me is dear to my heart. And I find myself saying them over and over to myself and I am comforted and mystified by them. I am Christ’s own. What an incredible calling. And even as I think of walking under the cross I am reminded I am called to carry my own and to live a life worthy of that calling. And I confess I don’t know what all that means and that I am not good at it. Many times I, who have received much mercy, have failed to show it. I, who have received much help and generosity, am often selfish. But in spite of my weaknesses, I am marked as Christ’s own forever and my hope is in his promise that the one who began this work in me will be faithful to complete it. Thanks be to God for this indescribable gift!

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

