One of Those Days

Every mother has them. It is not a vendetta against me. It is not personal. Today was one of those days when all of my children were difficult. Sebastian isn’t completely to blame as he was woken up prematurely during both naps by a brother who will remain nameless. It isn’t all defiance even, but often plain carelessness or thoughtlessness which in a way is more of a challenge to deal with. Why is it when you tell someone to throw something away as they are standing inches from a trash can that they walk two rooms away to do it? And how can something be so difficult to do when I am sitting next to them telling them step by easy step how to do it? And there was outright defiance as well. Factor in five children and assume that most of the day I was correcting someone.

It is 7:45 and I have put all my children to bed with strict instructions that they are not to come out except to use the bathroom if needed and then are to go directly back to bed. Adam is relaxing after a busy day of combing through a newly donated collection of materials at HMML by playing a war game on the x-box. I am retreating downstairs to the couch by the fire with a book. I feel like I have fought my own battle today and am ready to relax.  Hopefully tomorrow will go more smoothly.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

