San Francisco

The annual Society of Biblical Literature conference took place this year in San Francisco.  Since the conference also takes place around our anniversary we decided that this year I would tag along to the conference.  Mom and Dad very graciously agreed to meet me half way to pick up the boys and took them to Kentucky while Adam and I spent the week together.

Getting ready for a trip is considerably easier without five children running about and I think I managed to leave the house in the cleanest state it has ever been prior to a trip.  Our flight left in the late evening so we enjoyed dinner in St Paul at The Happy Gnome before going to the airport.  We arrived in San Francisco just after the last train left the station, so we took a shuttle to the airport. We made it there quickly, as the driver maneuvered the streets in much the same manner as people drive in foreign countries, but we were safely there and glad to be settled for the night.

The following day was Adam’s long day in the conference as he was presiding over two new sessions. I spent the day with our friends, The Denhams, enjoying the views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Fort Point.  I gained a new name from their son David who insisted on calling me, “Mr. Collome.” This is the name of another person he knows who is a firefighter and very high on his list of respectable persons, so I accepted the name with gratitude.

Sunday I passed the day reading, took a walking tour through the financial district and parts of China Town, and enjoyed an adult only dinner with the Denhams and Adam down on Pier 39.

The evenings have been filled with gatherings of friends from Hebrew Union and other colleagues of Adam’s. It has been an enjoyable and relaxing time.  We leave this afternoon and I am looking forward to being home again and the arrival of the boys tomorrow.  Big cities are nice to visit, but I definitely prefer the noise of my small-town house filled with boys to the noisy streets of the big city.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

