Boys will be boys…

I grew up with only one sister. I remember playing quietly for hours with My Little Ponies and Maple Town characters. We played house in the play house out back. I had a lot of friends from girl scouts who also happened to have only sisters. There were a couple of boys in the neighborhood that I played with for lack of girls within walking distance so I had some exposure to GI Joes, but my childhood I remember as a quiet one.

Fast forward 25 years. I now live in a house with six males.  Adam is very respectable. He always closes the toilet, says excuse me, and has excellent table manners. The others are respectable males in training, and some days seem like we are making more progress than others. Do not misunderstand. I love having five boys and wouldn’t trade it for the world. But I have come to accept there are some boyish things I will never understand. Here are a couple of examples:

The constant wrestling and the unending sound effects of shooting guns and lasers.  I suppose it is the “hunter” instinct, but why does everything have to be shot at? If you doubt the repetition of these noises in my house, Sebastian is living proof of it.  He is really just beginning to make word-like sounds. The most commonly heard sounds are, “ma ma ma ma ma!” which runs a close race with “gun gun gun gun gun!”

The obsession with being naked and their male body parts. Today while I was on the phone, Gabriel comes into the room having removed all but his underwear. Nevermind that we keep our house set at 64 degrees in the winter, they are often found with missing shirts or pants.  Today in the bath one of them was experimenting with the laws of physics. Lying on his back suspended in the water by his hands called me in to inform me, “Look, if I move my feet in the water like this it moves!”

The swing between the obsession over and complete unawareness of passing air. They love potty talk and have to frequently be restrained in this area. But should a burp or even a loud belch escape at the dinner table, they go on talking completely oblivious to their interruption. This I am sure is more a young child issue and not particularly male, but with the number of males in the household, it stands out.

I can only imagine the changes and adventures in store for me as these boys grow!

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boys will be boys…

  1. Robin Been says:

    Obviously being your “1 sister” I too have similar remembrances of childhood (though I do think I was a bit louder than you and with playing soccer and such perhaps around boys a bit more – who knows). Anyway I so understand this entire post. I might have to plagiarize it to make it my own – changing 5 boys to 3, etc. but still . . . . smile – sigh – smile again . . . sigh again.

Leave a Reply

