Fixing Patience

I enjoy fixing things. While I would not go so far as to call myself handy, I get great satisfaction from being able to do things myself. When I drug my pregnant self through the attic to install a bracket for a ceiling fan for the boys’ room some thought I was crazy, but I enjoyed the challenge.  I built a simple platform bed for our mattress and while it isn’t fancy, even now as I crawl into bed when I think about it I am glad I built it. But then there are times that what seems to be a simple task completely eludes me.  In Birmingham it was our outside faucet. The pipe simply refused to stay together in spite of all my soldering and replacing. Here, I have a new bane: fastening a bike rack to the wall for Adam’s bike. Initially I got some large hooks. It took multiple attempts to get them into a secure spot in the wall! Each failed attempt leaving a large hole. I then discovered the curve was too much to allow me to easily put the bike on. I attempted instead to hang the boys’ bikes by the tire. With a bit of difficulty I managed to get them on. With more difficulty I got them back off, in the process tearing one of the hooks from the wall. Today, a couple of months later, I tried again in an attempt to declutter the garage. (You would think that with a three car garage there would be plenty of room, but with two vehicles, a lawn mower, a snow blower, a variety of children’s toys, and a few boxes of storage, it is a bit crowded.) Anyway, today’s project got off to a good start. The drywall in the garage is not seamed together and it is obvious where each piece is screwed in place, so finding a stud should be a piece of cake. I attached the rack and put the bike on and tentatively let go catching the bike seconds later. I decided the screws that came with the rack were not long enough, so I got out three inch screws, moved slightly and drove the screws in again. It felt like they were in something solid. Again, I put the bike up and tested the bracket which held only a few seconds longer than my first attempt. I resigned and set to organizing other areas of the garage. I’m sure I will try again, but not today.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

