Legos

As I mentioned before, this Christmas brought lots of Legos to our home.  The bigger Legos made an appearance around a year ago. Isaac and Stephen were very interested in Legos, but with Sebastian in the stage of putting everything in his mouth I wasn’t prepared to introduce little Legos yet.  Had I known, however, how well occupied it would keep my three oldest children though, I might have reconsidered. The morning after opening presents from Ron and Paula where every child received legos appropriate to their age, I heard a small voice at the door around 7:00 and found Stephen asking if they could play in the playroom. (They are normally expected to play in their room when they wake up, since none of them have yet mastered walking softly on the floor and it sounds like a cattle stampede floor our room downstairs.) Permission was given and when Adam and I got our vacationing selves out of bed an hour later I found Isaac, Stephen, and Jack being very industrious building all manner of houses, vehicles, and animals. They stopped for breakfast, and went back to work, appearing only to provide a project for our inspection or ask for assistance, until Granddaddy and Nana arrived back at the house.  Similar days have followed and they continue to build. Having worked through all the building instructions that came with the Legos themselves they now petition daily for me to find and print off instructions for new projects and are experimenting with designing their own.

Gabriel too wants in on this work and joins them at the computer to ask for directions. (They don’t really give building instructions for Duplos, nor can he quite follow them, but I printed off a few pictures others had built and his older brothers or I help assemble them.) The other day Gabriel and I were building a tree and he repeatedly asked me if I was following the instructions. As he carefully placed the people around the tree he anxiously asked, “Is this building by the directions?”

Sebastian is enjoying the Legos as well, specifically hurling them across the room at great speed or pouring out the little Legos belonging to his brothers. The only draw back is that Sebastian has more or less been banned from the play room in order to preserve the delicate construction spread across the floor. But a solution to that is in progress.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Legos

  1. Carol Wolfe says:

    Gabriel got a haircut! He looks like a different boy.

Leave a Reply

