Sebastian’s First Haircut

It is always sad for me when the time comes for my children’s first haircut.  Isaac and Stephen and Gabriel were all over two when they got theirs.  Jack’s was a bit sooner since his hair has always been pretty straight and covered over his eyes.  Sebastian is the baby and I think his was especially sad for me. I know once the baby curls are cut they are probably gone for good and while I know he really isn’t a baby anymore his long curls let me pretend a bit longer. But it was time–people were starting to think he was a girl.  So yesterday we went to run errands and stopped along the way for his first hair cut.

He watched everyone with great interest as we waited our turn and he sat in the chair without any hesitation. He was a little puzzled by the drape and spent a moment trying to find his feet, but once he got one foot out he was content. He studied the penguins under his chin while the back of his hair was cut, didn’t make a sound, and only wrinkled his brow at the hair dryer.

And so, my little baby has changed in an instant to look like the busy boy that he is. Thankfully, he still has a lot of snuggles to share with his momma.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sebastian’s First Haircut

  1. Amy Korstange says:

    He’s such a cutie, Wendy! And, your post made my heart hurt a little bit with the bittersweet joy of watching a baby boy become a little boy!

Leave a Reply

