A Busy Week

The past several days have been full ones. Here is a recap.
Friday night Adam and I enjoyed a rare evening out together without children. The boys and I postponed our trip to the YMCA until the afternoon so they could expend some energy prior to the babysitter coming, though they could hardly wait for Emily’s arrival. They spent a delightful evening playing  Hide-and-Seek and drawing and coloring pictures with one of their favorite people. Meanwhile, Adam and I enjoyed a nice dinner at a restaurant called The White Horse. Adam enjoyed a double IPA called Surly’s Abomination. I ate the best soup I’ve ever had, Chang Mai dumpling. We will have to go back because I have searched the internet in vain for a recipe and cannot find one. We finished off our meal and enjoyed an animated conversation with a gentleman who happened to share a trivia team with one of Adam’s coworkers. He initiated the conversation while I was waiting for Adam by stating we were an interesting couple and that he hadn’t seen us there before. I never did figure out why he thought us so interesting. After dinner we walked briskly (since silly me forgot a coat) down the block to the Paramount to enjoy a jazz concert by The Bad Plus, complements of our local library. We returned to find all our children sleeping soundly.
Saturday for me was spent meal planning, grocery shopping, and getting Sebastian and Jack haircuts.
Sunday we went to church, had lunch, and I organized the laundry for the week.
Monday was a big day. Adam came home from work and announced he had decided to cut his hair. Perhaps it is because they are so used to seeing the shapeless forms of people bundled up for winter, but Minnesota people seem to assume anyone with long hair is female which gets old after a time. The interesting moment was when he asked if I could cut it. In nursing school we were assigned to shave someone’s face. That was nerve-racking enough, in spite of a safety razor and the knowledge that any mistakes are short-lived. Adam asked me when we were dating to cut his hair and I declined, feeling that was not a healthy thing for our blooming relationship. I have cut it many times since then, but always the standard clippers cut that doesn’t require a large amount of skill, other than knowing the flat part of the guard and not the point go against the head. This lesson Adam was quick to share with me when I gave his first hair cut. Anyway, he did not want to go to get it cut anywhere, so despite my doubts he entrusted me to cut it and was happy with the results. The boys verdict was that, “You don’t look like Abba.”

Before

After

Tuesday was an average school day with only two out-of-the-ordinary events.  The first was when I heard splashing coming from the bathroom. Going to investigate, I found Sebastian fully clothed standing in the bath tub. Gabriel and Jack had both taken baths and he was eager for his turn later on when I had some free time. Jack had neglected to let the water out of the tub and Sebastian seized the moment.  I didn’t have the presence of mind to snap the picture before removing the soaked overalls, though I did get one before I took off his diaper.
The second event was not so cute. Close to bedtime,  Jack’s stomach erupted suddenly. I yelled for him to run to the bathroom. In hindsight this was a mistake as it left a long trail on the carpet to be cleaned instead of one spot. I have decided pregnancy truly does help prepare you for these moments of parenting. As all the other members of the family felt their own stomachs constrict at the sight and smell and were forced to leave the room (except Gabriel who was intrigued by the contents of Jack’s now empty stomach) I proceeded to put Jack in the shower and clean the carpet, thinking all the while of the dozens of times in pregnancy I hung over the toilet. While cleaning up vomit is unpleasant, it is much better than vomiting yourself.
Today we stayed home from the YMCA, just to ensure there would be no further explosions. We read some extra stories and some of the boys did extra math lessons. We had very few squabbles which is always nice. The day wasn’t completely without hangups. I accidentally sent Adam to work with leftover spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato soup I meant to send, leaving him with only an apple and juice to eat for lunch. And two of the three toilets got stopped up resulting a another load of smelly laundry and floors to mop, but overall it was a good day and I had Adam’s favorite supper waiting for him when he got home.
The boys are eagerly looking forward to the end of the week to celebrate Adam’s birthday.
About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

