The Little Boy(s) Who Cried Wolf

Somedays, I am not very compassionate. Today was one of those unsympathetic days with my dear children. They played well at the YMCA this morning, but once we got home complaints started rolling in. “I’m tired.” “I’m too cold.” “I don’t want to do school.” These statements occur with relative frequency whenever it is time to clean up or study lessons, so I don’t give a great deal of thought to them and we press on through the tasks at hand. Today however, once we completed everything and the older boys were listening to the Jungle Book with the headphones on Stephen’s bed Gabriel stated that his head hurt. This being more of an unusual complaint I checked his temperature and found he had a fever of over 101. I checked the others’ temperatures also and found they all, but Sebastian, had fevers. I suppose I should have clued in when Stephen, who prides himself in going out most of the time without a coat, wore his winter coat complete with the hood as he sat at the table to write his spelling words, but I guess I was just not on top of things today. I have, so far, refrained from lecturing that if they wouldn’t complain and make excuses at other times, I might have been more receptive. That can wait until they feel better.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

