Happy 7th Birthday, Isaac and Stephen!

Well, it has come again and I again marvel at the fact that my once little babies are another year older already. I remember when I had only babies I would look at children that were 6-7 years old and think it would be strange to have children at that age, and here I am, not with babies or toddlers or even preschoolers, but with tall, smart, seven-year-old boys that can read and engage in the world around them. And with each passing year I am further reminded that these boys really do not belong to me, but have been given to me and to Adam to nurture and train and encourage and send out into the world.  May God use them to love others and make the lives of those their lives touch better.

But enough reflecting–we had a full and fun day.  The morning started off with the usual birthday breakfast–monkey bread.  Jack must have been listening at the door with anticipation because as soon as I entered the kitchen he was downstairs asking to help. It came together well and I decided since there wasn’t really room for candles in the cake (more on this later), I would put the candles in the monkey bread.  This would have worked well had I not needed to serve it right out of the oven so Adam could eat before work. But that was not the case and I proceeded to put the candles into the hot monkey bread and they quickly melted and started to fall over. We sang a very quick “Happy Birthday” so they could blow out the candles before they all fell down.

After breakfast we attempted successfully a normal morning of school (with the exception of foregoing the YMCA). The boys then opened their presents from Gran and Pap and spent the next hour or more assembling their new Legos. Isaac, much to Jack’s delight, allowed him to assemble the machine while he played with the mini figures and offered supervisory remarks now and then. Stephen busily constructed his own set. Gabriel was content to watch and Sebastian napped. I discovered a new love for Legos which kept my children so engaged I even had a lengthy phone conversation without interruption until a specific Lego piece couldn’t be found.

At lunch time we headed to Space Aliens where we happily spent the next three hours eating lunch, playing games, and having ice cream sundaes. The boys for the first time really connected with the idea of winning tickets and a great many were won. The highlight for the boys was definitely the ice cream. The highlight for me was the two comments I received on the boys’ good manners and Isaac, who when sent to check on Sebastian’s location in the game room, found him sitting in the space shuttle and of his own accord used his own tokens to give his brother a ride.

We returned home and spent the afternoon playing outside and more with Legos. Sebastian took a second nap and when Adam came home the boys opened some presents. I came up with a decent birthday idea this time for my boys who love to draw: pencil rolls.  The boys both seemed enthused with them and talked especially about how nice they would be on our upcoming trip.

We went out for dinner to Famous Dave’s where we enjoyed some barbecue and the birthday boys received yet another sundae. The rest of the presents were opened and we finally got around to having cupcakes. I got off easy on the cake this year. At first the request was made for superhero face cupcakes, but then they decided they wanted me to make the cake and let them decorate it themselves which is what we did.

See, I told you there was no room for candles.

Happy 7th birthday, Isaac and Stephen!

 

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy 7th Birthday, Isaac and Stephen!

  1. pgmcc2000 says:

    Happy Birthday Isaac & Stephen!!!
    We are happy you had a fun birthday.
    We love you,
    Nana & Granddaddy

  2. Granddaddy says:

    Happy Birthday Isaac and Stephen! We’ll talk tomorrow so I can find out what you bought with your birthday money. There’s also a surprise in the mail!

  3. Glad you had wonderful celebrations! Love the pencil rolls – I’ve seen and perhaps we’ve even had some before but I’d forgotten about them. Now I have new projects to start (and ideas of birthday gifts for other kids). I see you have the “Special” plate. Great memories in that. Do you also have the “special” mug? I like the Scripture dishes as well!!! Happy Birthday Isaac and Stephen. Many blessings!!!

  4. Betsy says:

    Looks like a crazy fun day!

Leave a Reply

