A Four Children Day

Today was unusual. Most of the day, I only had four children.

Adam had the day off for Good Friday, so I gave the boys the option to stay home with him or go to the YMCA with me. Everyone but Gabriel decided to go, so off I went with four children instead of five to the Y. On arriving, Jack exclaimed with alarm, “Where is Gabriel?” He was greatly relieved to be reminded he was home with Adam and had not been forgotten. I had to keep reminding myself I was supposed to be one short as I counted heads (as I routinely do) to make sure I had everyone.

When we got home, Stephen curled up on the couch with a blanket, not feeling well, and went to sleep. He decided he didn’t feel like eating, so he slept on the couch while Adam and I had lunch with our other four children.

After lunch, Sebastian went down for a nap and Adam, I, and four children went outside. Stephen curled up in a chair for the most part while the others played.  After being out for a while, Gabriel went in for a nap.  Shortly after Sebastian woke up and while Gabriel slept the three oldest children worked to construct their new Lego set while Sebastian joined them at the table and played with big Legos while I fixed supper.

Since we played outside for a long while, dinner was a bit late so I fed Sebastian early and put him to bed. Gabriel woke from his long nap in time to join us for dinner, so we again ate with four children.

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

