Nonie and Grandpa’s House

We had a terrific time at my parents’ house. I enjoyed some time without children to visit with my parents. My dad took me out for breakfast while my mom watched and fed the boys. This was a treat started in high school and though it is fewer and farther between, we still get to go out at times and enjoy talking together.

After breakfast we returned home and my dad watched the boys while my mom and I went to a kids consignment sale. Dad took them out to the shop for a while where the older boys hammered nails and screwed in screws. Gabriel stayed busy vacuuming saw dust and Sebastian contentedly wandered around. Mom finished out the boys’ summer wardrobes for me and after a couple of other brief errands we returned home where I was greeted by Gabriel who asked, “Why do you keep going away?”

We spent the remainder of the day relaxing at home visiting with Mom, Dad, and Grandmother. Sebastian spent much of his time playing with the dog’s leashes. For a short time he was content to pull around a stuffed dog, but soon his attention turned to Paco and the poor dog spent the rest of our visit being followed around or sitting in his cage while Sebastian stood next to it with the leash pointing and jabbering at him.  The boys enjoyed a trip to the consignment sale the next day where my mom treated them all to a toy. They all came out pretty well. Isaac found a large Star Wars coloring and activity book. Stephen found a book teaching how to draw Marvel comic book characters. Jack found a Star Wars gun. Gabriel found a box of Legos which Jack gladly assembled for him.  Sebastian received a remote-controlled school bus. The only regret was expressed from Jack, who couldn’t climb the tree due to a few honey bees still flying around.

Mixing Compost with Nonie

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

