Spaghetti Scare

Tonight we had spaghetti for dinner, exchanging the spaghetti noodles with spaghetti squash. The sauce turned out well, though we decided the bacon next time should be cooked crispy and then added. Jack, the least picky eater in the family, ate two bowls. Gabriel, the most picky, declared before I even dished his that he didn’t want any and sat, as he often does, at the table and watched us eat and played with his empty bowl and napkin. The twins picked around the “noodles” but requested seconds on the sauce. Adam wasn’t crazy about it at first but said it grew on him. Sebastian loved it, more the noodles than the sauce, and was almost finished with his second bowl when Isaac calmly but questioningly said, “I thought Sebastian was allergic to squash.”

My breath caught in my throat and I was filled with dreadful anticipation of what was to come, for it was true. Our past experience with Sebastian and both yellow squash and pumpkin resulted in a series of profuse vomiting by the poor boy, until he final fell asleep exhausted. I figured by this point the damage was done and as he seemed to be enjoying his meal so throughly I let him finish. Then I dressed him in easy-to-remove-without-pulling-over-his-head clothes and we went outside with Adam remarking that perhaps it was good our baby sitter couldn’t babysit tonight. I let him stay up longer than normal and happily he had no problems. Perhaps spaghetti squash is different enough from the others. Perhaps he has outgrown his allergy, but I’m not willing to test that just yet on purpose. Whatever the cause, this is a thankful momma!

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

