Special Moments

Some days I am in such a hurry. Some days I react too quickly and I miss seeing beautiful things. But sometimes I pay attention and notice. Here are a few special moments from the week.

*Hearing Isaac and Stephen reviewing phonograms with Jack without being asked, so Jack could surprise me by getting his work done before leaving for the YMCA.

*Having the twins ask me why I believed in Jesus, telling them of the time when I wasn’t sure God was real and how he convicted me of his power and holiness and love and my own need for him and then hearing Stephen tell me why he believed in Jesus.

*Walking through Trader Joes with Sebastian in the cart holding the hot dog package saying “hot dog” over and over.

*Seeing Jack, after hitting Sebastian with the pantry door by pushing back when Sebastian was trying to close it on him, show immediate sorrow over his action and tenderness towards his brother. I almost missed this moment by rushing in to intervene, but God graciously had me bite my tongue.

*Hearing Gabriel say from the back of the car that he was ready to die. When I asked him why he told me, “So I can go to heaven and wait for my new body.”

*Celebrating the unofficial start of summer with our neighbors at a bonfire and watching my three older boys who used to cling to my side run and play with the other kids. (This one was bittersweet to be sure!)

*Jack telling me he wants to paint a picture of Jesus dying on the cross to give to someone who doesn’t believe in Jesus.

*Watching my boys line themselves upon a friend’s porch step to eat their lunch. Gabriel and Sebastian gave up their place at the picnic table to imitate their big brothers.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

