Considering Others

Over Memorial Day weekend I tackled a project to get the bikes from taking over our garage floor. I found a plan for a bike rack that used PVC pipe which worked well for us since I had some left from another project.  The boys enjoyed watching me cut and fit together the pieces as well as putting them together when I wasn’t using them. All was going smoothly until the time came for gluing the pieces together. For  those of you who have never used PVC cement, it dries almost instantly. This is great assuming the pieces are immediately positioned exactly as you want them when you put them together. Unfortunately for me, this was not the case. They sell at the store a dual pack of PVC glue and solvent. I took the cheaper route (as usual) and didn’t get the solvent.  I tried separating the pipes in a variety of ways: twisting them, using one piece as a lever to break it loose, and banging it on the concrete (which only resulted in breaking the connecting T without breaking loose the pipes). My frustration must have been apparent  as Gabriel, who has never before exhibited much awareness of another person’s emotional state came up to me and asked, “Momma, are you sad?”  I admitted I was frustrated since it wasn’t coming together smoothly but tried to assure him it wasn’t a big deal. He was very concerned however and periodically came to check on me and eventually asked again, “Momma, are you still sad?”

Eventually the bike rack came together, and while it doesn’t look exactly as it was meant to, it does the job of keeping the bikes upright. And I would glue PVC pipes together all day to see the sweet compassion Gabriel had for his momma.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

