Quarry Park

Yesterday I felt ambitious. In the non-routine of summer time it is easy for the day to pass by without us setting our feet outdoors, but yesterday I felt the urge to uproot myself and my children and get some much-needed fresh air and activity. I packed a picnic lunch and informed the boys we were going on a bike ride to Quarry Park where we would have a picnic and walk around before heading back. Off we went, in spite of the protests and grumbling about leaving their books behind, the older three boys on their bikes, Gabriel and Sebastian in the stroller, and me on skates.  About half-way there moving against the wind I was feeling my recent lack of activity, but on we pressed.

We sat down to our picnic immediately upon arrival and I passed out the sandwiches. I was puzzled at the missing half sandwich I had put in the top of the sack for Sebastian, but thought it must have slid to the side. Alas, before I was finished passing them out, Jack said, “Why did you give us only bread?” I started to refute him, but then realized it was indeed only bread. I had packed the sandwiches in an empty bread bag and accidentally picked up the half empty loaf of bread instead. I urged them to enjoy their plain bread and assured them they could eat their true sandwiches when we arrived back home. Gabriel creatively packed his bread with the fresh blackberries we brought along.

After eating, we explored the quarry, climbed on low stacks of rocks and hung from cables before heading home where the boys promptly ate their sandwiches.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quarry Park

Leave a Reply

