Brothers in the Bath

I am amazed at parents who give their children nightly baths. By the time evening comes around, dinner is prepared, every one is fed, and a story or two has been read, I can’t seem to find the energy for baths. In fact, I used to insist on changing into pajamas and I have given that up as well and can be heard saying, “I don’t care what you sleep in, just get in the bed.” (I do insist they sleep in something.) Sometimes I feel like Cinderella and that if the children are not in bed before the clock strikes a given time (which varies depending on how the day has gone) I will turn into a three-headed monster.

I aim for some sort of bodily cleansing once a week–a bath or shower, swimming, and if I’m really desperate I confess I have let playing in the sprinkler count. The older boys are not so much into baths these days and usual need to be directed to the shower, though occasionally they randomly decide to take one in the middle of the day. My younger children do enjoy baths however and I have found it a good way to occupy Gabriel, especially in the middle of the day, so with school starting soon he may become squeaky clean.  Sebastian also enjoys the bath, though he requires more supervision, both as a precaution to prevent drowning and to keep him from emptying the tub cup by cup onto the bathroom floor. Bubbles, of course, make the play even more fun.

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brothers in the Bath

  1. Granddaddy says:

    Those pics are great!

Leave a Reply

