The Birthdays Begin

Yesterday I turned 34. Adam gave me my first present in the morning, asking if I wanted to sleep in or get up for breakfast before he left. It was a nice offer, but unlike many mornings I felt fairly well rested so I started the day. The boys had a piece of fruit for breakfast and then for mid-morning snack I fixed a new waffle recipe. Trying to make some good use of the almond butter that for some reason didn’t turn out so well I mixed it with the small amount of maple syrup we had left and we spread that on our waffles. It was delicious. After eating we read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and worked on crafts out of a Star Wars craft book we had checked out from the library. Then, we packed up and went to the YMCA for a bit of swimming.

Having seen the day before a coupon in the paper for $10 off on your birthday at a local restaurant called Anton’s which surprisingly didn’t say “Dine in only” I called to see if I could order take out and much to my delight they said yes. So from the Y we went to pick up my spinach and artichoke pasta and popover and then headed for home where I fixed lunch for the boys. It was almost 3:00 by the time we finished eating and Gabriel, Sebastian, Jack, and I all took a nap.

Adam fixed me a birthday dinner and dessert. Bacon wrapped baked eggs and fruit with balsamic vinegar and almonds, both of which were quite tasty. I opened my present–a machine to punch and bind notebooks which should come in handy for making books for my young students and artists. And after putting the boys to bed Adam and I sat and watched shows on Netflix while I enjoyed the cherry coke Adam brought me to celebrate my birthday.  It was a good end to my first day being 34.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Birthdays Begin

  1. Betsy says:

    Happy birthday, friend!

Leave a Reply

