Back To School

Today we finished our second week of school and the routine is starting to come together.  I still have a few subjects that need to be added in still–music, art, hands on nature study. I tend to take a gradual approach rather than tackling it all at once. It is a bit different this year having different grades and different levels and a toddler who no longer takes a morning nap, but we are fitting things in pretty well.  I have a new love and appreciation for Libravox and the dear souls who volunteer to read stories out loud as well as the ones at Ambleside Online that organize my curriculum for me.

We work to get most of our studying done in the morning, then have a late snack and head off for the YMCA. After a morning when Jack was less than enthusiastic over his spelling work we headed off to the Y and I brought the books along. He saw them and asked about them. “I thought we’d do your spelling before you go to play,” I responded. And he loved the idea. Whether it is the uninterrupted time with me or the ability to focus better without four brothers distracting him or the absence of the Legos in the basement that call his name, it has worked beautifully and become part of the routine.

I am also learning to redeem the time in the car, so on the way to the Y we listen to the Burgess Bird Book for Children from Jack’s curriculum and on the way home we listen to the Burgess Animal Book for Children from the twins’ curriculum (thanks to Libravox). What is most funny is that last year when I tried to read from the bird book they would all groan. Now if I don’t put it on immediately, they are reminding me about it and today Jack laid downstairs on the footstool and listened to three chapters.  I don’t think they even realize it is the same.

After the YMCA we have a late lunch, finish whatever we have left to do, read some, and have a bit of rest time. (Really rest time for me and the two younger ones. The older three are usually looking at books or building legos together.)

My favorite new project this year is their Bible journals. I think I may actually start one for each of their subjects since they like to draw so much. At their request, we are reading through Revelation a chapter a day. Here are some of their entries.

Rev. 11:1 Then I was given a measuring stick, and I was told, “Go and measure the Temple of God.” by Jack, age 6

Rev 5: He took the scroll and he opened it. You need to praise the Lord. The angels were singing, “Alleluia!” by Jack

Rev 6 The rider Death, followed by Hell. Illustrated by Isaac, age 7

Rev 7: After this I saw four angels holding back the four winds. By Isaac

Rev 7, by Stephen, age 7

Rev 5: “Who is worthy to open the scroll?” by Stephen

 

 

 

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back To School

  1. Granddaddy says:

    Very cool artwork. And Revelation no less – wow!

Leave a Reply

