Budding Artists

Life with five young children is messy. I think this house comes with a crumb dispenser that automatically deposits crumbs on the floor after I have just swept. I cannot keep up. Artwork with five young children is messier still and painting I confess at times fills me with dread. But today I had a perfect moment. Gabriel, after lunch had found a box of Christmas ornaments with paints and brushes and asked to do a “painting project.” The older three were intent on getting to the Lego room where they are organizing certain pieces of their Legos (yet another glimpse of hope!) so I agreed. Sebastian, seeing what Gabriel was up to quickly found a paint brush of his own, so after striping him down to his diaper I gave him an ornament and a container of paint which he promptly and skillfully painted on his ornament until it was empty. I think he emptied 3-4 paint containers on the one ornament as well as a few purposeful strokes to his belly. He marveled at the mixture of colors on his hands and enjoyed washing the brushes in the water and watching it change colors. Amazingly enough there was no spilled water or ruined clothes. Both boys finished in the bathtub where the paint washed off their bodies without assistance from me. There were only a few tears from Sebastian who was denied a second round of painting after his bath. And I’m not sure who was the happiest–the boys in getting to paint, or me in getting to give some special attention to my younger two boys.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Budding Artists

Leave a Reply

