The Fleeting Days of Summer

Today felt more like a summer day, but they are quickly fading. The air conditioner has been off again for a couple of weeks and the night temperatures have dropped to the 50s and 60s. More often than not I am back to jeans instead of shorts and today Stephen commented that he was dreading the coming cold. (Of course he also complained today about being too hot. When I pointed this out he simply stated, “I don’t want it to be too hot or too cold.”)  The days are growing shorter and it is now dark before nine o’clock. And while I don’t mind the temperature change so much, I confess I get a little restless at the thought of the short winter days.

A couple of nights ago after supper the boys expressed interest in riding to the play ground, so we headed off for a little time of play before bed while we still can. And here too I am reminded of the quick passage of time as I see my boys perform new feats at the playground: Isaac on the monkey bars and pumping his legs to keep himself going on the swing, Sebastian climbing all the way around arched steps, Jack climbing the climbing wall and Gabriel climbing the curved wall, and Stephen spinning himself and doing other tricks on the spinning poles. And so in the midst of chaos and the messiness of life, I am trying to savor these moments as the gifts they are.

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

