A Trip to the Zoo

After meeting a friend from church on Tuesday, I decided to make the most of a trip to the city and the boys and I headed off for the zoo. Each of the older boys was given instructions to pick an animal to draw and remember something about, which they did pretty well for their first assignment of this sort.

Stephen was feeling a bit under the weather. I’m afraid with five children they often get the same approach as I get when I feel under the weather–life must go on and there are things to be done whether you feel well or not. I did concede to let him ride in the stroller and in spite of not feeling well he found enough to interest him enough to get out on occasion.

The highlights of this trip were the penguins, which did a great deal more jumping and swimming than we have encountered on previous visits, and the butterflies, which I enjoyed taking pictures of. It is a bit tricky however to take pictures and ensure Sebastian did not cause harm to any butterflies or get in the water, but I think we did okay. (For some reason I have yet to determine, he takes great delight in smashing bugs. The other night I was eating while he was playing outside, and he very lovingly brought me a dead cricket on a spoon.) There was a new fish exhibit, complete with two zoo workers in scuba gear cleaning the tank who received far more interest than the fish. 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

