Kombucha Tea

A few weeks ago on my way home from a meeting a church my friend Liz offered me a bottle of kombucha tea. I had never even heard of such a concoction (for those who want to know more here you go), but I thought it was delicious and when I inquired how to make it she invited me over for a kombucha tea-making lesson. I was eager to both learn this new process as well as spend time with a good friend, so we made plans to get together after church one Sunday.

Adam took the four older boys to Como Zoo and Sebastian took a nap in Liz’s basement, so the tea making process was uninterrupted and at the end of the lesson I went home equipped with jars, a culture, and directions for making my own kombucha tea. And I instructed the boys we would have to now be patient and wait for our tea. Unfortunately the weather turned cooler making the process a bit longer, but last Wednesday I decided it was ready enough. Jack helped the process of bottling the tea by adding the chia seeds to each of the bottles. Gabriel helped add some juice and I finished by adding the tea itself.  So we have had a first successful batch of tea which I enjoy daily. Adam is acquiring a taste for it also. Most of the boys don’t care for it, at least not with the added chia seeds, but Gabriel (of all the children he is the pickiest) asks several times of day if he can have his portion and drinks it merrily singing, “I love my kombucha tea!”

 

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kombucha Tea

  1. Bethany says:

    I will not be jealous that you made tea with Liz. Not jealous at all. 😉

Leave a Reply

