Playing Games

There has been a sudden increase in game playing at our house lately. This delights me a great deal because I love playing games. The trend began with a game of Scrabble that Adam and I played one night after the boys were in bed. Of all games, Scrabble is one of my favorites, maybe because I play it better than any other game and often win. It is an act of love for Adam to play Scrabble with me, as his knowledge of other languages is a great hindrance in this case since our rules include spelling only English words, thus eliminating a large part of his vocabulary. Still, he played valiantly and only lost as the result of one word. The board looked so great at the end of the game it was worth taking a picture. 

We were introduced to the newest family favorite by my sister and brother-in-law some years ago (I’m not sure if we even had children.) We purchased the game, Sequence, after playing it with them and never played it. Adam and I got it out to try one night and the next day I introduced it to the twins to see how they could do and it was a great success. Jack was then introduced to it as well, allowing us to play on teams of two with one parent involved which is a lot of fun. Here is Adam and the boys with a game in progress.

Of course Gabriel is still in the preschool game stage like Candyland and Chutes and Ladders, which don’t hold a great deal of appeal for me and Sebastian isn’t interested in board games at all. Thankfully Gabriel is also happy working puzzles and they both enjoy pouring the extra Sequence chips from cup to cup, so everyone is happy.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Games

  1. Granddaddy says:

    Hmmm…”knat” is sort of a stretch. Possibly archaic form of “gnat”. Wonder whose word that was.

  2. I am guilty on that one. It was one of those Scrabble moments that you convince yourself a word is right because those are the letters you have. I did verify the spelling with Adam and he approved and, on consulting the dictionary, it is an archaic form of gnat. Yes, a stretch perhaps, though it was not the winning word! 🙂

Leave a Reply

