Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving always brings a few pangs of homesickness for Alabama and the family gathering at Adam’s grandparents’ house in Lineville complete with Brenda’s dinner and a walk in the woods and tractor rides with Papa Joe and sometimes 4 wheeler rides with Granddaddy. It is not a place we go to often, but it is one that is dear to my heart.

But the extra time Adam had off work and a visit from my parents didn’t allow too much time for feeling homesick. Our days were full of good food and fun. We had the usual turkey, mashed sweet potatoes, deviled eggs, paleo dressing, and peas with cherry and vanilla cream pies for dessert. The fun took place mainly in the form of games: puzzles, Battleship, Skip-bo, Sequence, Chess, Dominos, War, Go Fish, Black Jack. Mom and Dad probably played more games in the few days they were here than the rest of the year combined. There were a few breaks for reading stories. We got snow on Thanksgiving day with big clusters of snowflakes falling from the sky. The boys went out to catch some on their tongues. Later they put on snowsuits, which took about half and hour, and went out to play. We gathered enough snow for the first snow ice-cream of the year. The boys watched a movie with Mom and Dad while Adam and I went to see the new James Bond movie. I confess you will have to go to Adam for a full movie review since I fell asleep (not because the movie was boring, just that I was tired and it was dark and there were no children calling my name.) There were some Lego building projects that Isaac and Stephen worked on. Mom and I went shopping (after the madness) and Dad and I went out to breakfast. And after all this activity I was delighted to think that it was just Saturday.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

