Back to the Zoo

IMG_4335

We enjoyed Christmas break and took the opportunity to just hang out and do some fun things. We took a day to enjoy another gift membership and headed for the zoo. I try to foster a sense of wonder an interest in the great variety of animals, but I’m afraid this trip the animals took a back seat to the spending money the boys also received and the cotton candy they could purchase. They wanted their own individual bags, but I vetoed that idea. Instead they split a jumbo sized bag which was conveniently divided into five sections of alternating colors. Jack, my mathematician, quickly calculated the cost of the cotton candy and how much they had each received and declared, “We can buy 14 more bags of cotton candy!”

The zoo was followed by a trip to McDonald’s where they bought happy meals and ice cream with the gift cards they received. I think this was a bigger present for me than them, as some friends met me for lunch. The boys sat at a table by themselves to eat while we sat several tables away to visit. Regrettably I was too busy talking and then catching ice cream drips to take any pictures here, but we had a great time.IMG_4329 IMG_4330IMG_4331

IMG_4326

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

