Silly Putty Warning

I tend to ignore the recommended ages on most products. I made an exception to this rule when my five year old twins asked for skate boards.
“You are not old enough,” I declared. “See, the package says ages 8 and up.” I thought surely the interest would pass away, but it has resurfaced from time to time and now my soon to be 8 year olds are rejoicing that they are finally old enough.

There is another product that the age recommendation should be strictly adhered to, at least in a house with a two year old. Silly Putty. It is fun. It stretches, it bounces, it copies pencil, and it sticks best to carpet, your brother’s new stuffed animal, and, as we discovered recently, human hair. After the carpet episodes (yes, that is plural) I had the older boys secure their silly putty out of Sebastian’s reach, but the other day when I came down after the boys were in bed I noticed an empty silly putty container on the floor. I quicky searched the floor of the room but found nothing. An hour or so later I heard Sebastian crying, softly at first and then with more distress. He often comes out of his room to me, but he didn’t, so I went to see what the trouble was. I found a very unhappy boy with his blonde curly hair stuck to his pillow with pink silly putty.

Google sure makes life easier. After a quick search I carried my screaming son upstairs to begin the process of removing the silly putty with rubbing alcohol, resulting in more screaming and a pitiful plea of, “Just cut it!” As sad as I would have been to cut off those baby curls, I would have were it not stuck all the way down to the scalp on the front right side of his head. Eventually it combed out enough to put him back to bed with a clean pillow case. The other one went to the trash. We repeated the washing the next day with olive oil to get out the residual stickiness. The comb I used I fear is a lost cause and must go the way of the pillowcase.

20130121-150016.jpg

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Silly Putty Warning

  1. pgmcc2000 says:

    Poor Sebastian–I heard you can use regular hand sanitizer or WD-40 to remove the putty if it gets in hair, clothing or carpet.

  2. How funny and sad all at the same time! 🙂 So glad you were able to get it out!

Leave a Reply

