A Confession

I am a nurse. I am a mom. And I hate to take my kids to the doctor. It doesn’t help that we have a high deductible, making it expensive to go to the doctor or that the times I finally do break down and take them I’m often told it’s just a virus and they’ll be okay in a few days. And so my children often tough it out and come out eventually on the other end. Sunday however Isaac was looking worse instead of better after a week, so Monday morning I called to take him in, and brought along the rest of the coughing, sniffing crew. Stephen also was dragging by this time.  Our doctor, who is used to and very gracious about me only bringing one child when all are sick, was out. Honestly I thought they would tell me it was just a virus, so when the doctor listened to Isaac and immediately said he sounded terrible and needed a chest x-ray I was surprised. Hesitantly, I stated, “I really thought you’d say it was just a virus. Since we are here and Stephen looks the same should you examine him too?” I received a resigned look, as though I had been caught trying to dupe the system. She listened to Stephen, said he also needed an x-ray and I was sent back to the front to register Stephen for an appointment so she could order one. Off we went for x-rays where we received many patient smiles as Gabriel and Sebastian and Jack took turns wheeling each other around in the stroller, and then went back to the exam room where breathing treatments were set up for them. After a diagnosis of pneumonia for both of them I listened through  the explanation of the physiology, the treatment, and never dared to admit I was a nurse.  And I scheduled a follow-up appointment, for both of them. After seeing the co-pay on the inhalers I confess to having the fleeting thought that perhaps they could share. Here are my twins, who really do insist on doing everything together.blog
We are now a week past diagnosis, and they are finally starting to feel better.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Confession

  1. Oh, my friend!!! I am so, so sorry to hear this!

Leave a Reply

