KY Lake

My sister and her family live in Mozambique and come home once every four years or so. While I would love to go visit her there, the logistics (and expense) of traveling there with five young children is too complicated for a short visit, so we only see her when they travel home. Their last visit home brought the introduction of Aunt Robin and Uncle Dan to our four oldest children, all born since they had gone over the previous time, and our introduction to their youngest two children. This visit there was only one new child to introduce, but a lot of reacquainting to do. When my dad suggested a family vacation at Land Between the Lakes I thought it was a terrific idea.

So after unpacking from the beach and repacking for the lake on Sunday night and Monday morning,  the boys and I drove to Kentucky where my parents rented a large cabin for Robin, Dan, and I to share with our combined ten children, and a smaller cabin for themselves. We started the trip with a trip to Patti’s restaurant, a favorite of ours to eat at on family vacations growing up and a nice meeting spot for my parents and I when I was in college, famous for their flower-pot bread, pork chops, and wonderful desserts.

The next day was spent alternating between swimming in the pool and fishing. After lunch my dad and I attempted to go sailing on the sunfish he borrowed from a friend. The wind wasn’t very cooperative, but it was fun to be out on the lake with my dad. It had been over 13 years since we last went sailing together.

The next day we rented a couple of boats–a double-decker pontoon boat with a slide and a ski boat we could tube or ski behind. We drove the pontoon boat to a nice place to drop anchor and played while the ski boat traded people in and out. We had a wonderful time. The twins opinion of tubing on arriving back to the boat: “That was fun!” Even Sebastian took a turn on the tube with me which went fine until I shifted too far forward which resulted in the front of the tube being pulled under water. He held his breath apparently, unlike his mama who did a good bit of coughing. The same result happens when Gabriel and Esperansa tried to ride together. My sister Robin tried to ski for the first time in years and got up the first time. My nephew Josiah also tried skiing for the first time and was able to get up too.

Dan, Asher, and Josiah got up early to fish and caught some good ones which my sister and the boys cleaned and froze to take home.

We spent our last day at the water park, a first for us as a family, which we enjoyed in spite of having to spend an hour at McDonald’s waiting out a thunderstorm. Our favorite was the tunnel slide that was dark as you went down.

We had a wonderful time together, talking, playing, and just being together. Thanks to Mom and Dad for everything.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

