A Weekend Away

Last weekend  I boarded a plane and took off all alone for Chicago. Mike came over early so Adam could take me to the airport without dragging all the boys out of bed before 5:00. In spite of not sleeping much the night before, I was relatively giddy over my little vacation. It was tempered a little the night before when I tucked the boys in bed and told them good-bye. I returned to Gabriel’s room after tucking the older boys in and found him crying.

“What’s wrong?” I asked him.

“I want you,” he cried.

“I’m right here,” I said.

He cried harder and said, “No, I want you for tomorrow!” But after a bit of snuggling he went to sleep. He was up before I left to hug me good-bye without tears.

I arrived in Chicago Friday morning and drove to Wheaton. The occasion of for my visit was the ordination of Stewart Ruch as Bishop for the new Northwest Anglican Diocese, which includes my church in Minnesota. Many from my church there were also coming for the celebration and it seemed a perfect opportunity to get to spend time with them. It was really an indescribable weekend. The sessions on Friday were instructive and encouraging and fun. Friday evening a group of us walked into town for some dinner and Friday night and Saturday morning I spent time with a very dear friend.

The ordination service was on Saturday morning. It was a beautiful, powerful service. As we worshipped and prayed together I couldn’t help thinking how amazing heaven will be with all God’s people in one place worshipping together. The service was more than I could imagine with the Anglican tradition and liturgy, music, preaching,  joyful celebration (which included the children dancing in the aisles and the new bishop along with other priests and bishops in their vestments dancing), and sharing in the Lord’s supper. Afterwards I roamed the marsh trails next to the church with a friend and ate Chicago style pizza with a group from church. I was so tired by the day’s end I went to bed at 8:00!

I was met at the airport and welcomed home on Sunday by Adam and the boys. I asked the boys what their favorite thing was that they did with Adam while I was away. The older boys said their favorite was watching a movie with him or watching him play xbox. Sebastian sweetly stated his favorite thing was coming to pick me up.

And the dishwasher was even full of clean dishes.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

