Unexpected Pleasures

I got a phone call from my mom a little over a week ago. She called to see if she could come for a visit. Due to schedule conflicts, she and my dad couldn’t come together but she was up for coming alone. I was happy to agree. As an added bonus, her trip coincided with her birthday.

The day before she was to arrive she called again. “How would you like two guests?” she asked.  ”

“Who’s the second?” I asked.

“Robin.”

For those of you who don’t know, my sister and her family live in Mozambique and usually are only here about every four years. The number of visits we’ve had together in the last ten years can be counted on our fingers. She also has five children of her own, so the number of conversations we’ve had in person without interruption from one of our combined ten children can be counted probably on one hand. So I eagerly assented to her joining us. My next call was to my dear mother-in-law to explain my mom and sister were both coming and Tuesday was my mom’s birthday, so could she come at lunch time and watch the boys while we went out to lunch together, just the three of us. She readily agreed. She arrived shortly after noon and off we went. We drove to the restaurant, took our time over the menu, enjoyed our meal and conversation, left the restaurant two hours later and visited the thrift store together. It was wonderful.

The remainder of the visit we played games and chatted. Robin and Stephen baked birthday brownies together for my mom. The boys challenged my mom to chess and checkers. We had such a fun time. So much fun, in fact, that I didn’t stop to take a single picture. There is something to be said for just enjoying the moments.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

