Alabama Snow

IMG_1153I must say we have enjoyed the warmer temperatures in Alabama this winter and I am not sorry to be missing the extra cold winter Minnesota is having this year, but we have missed the snow a little. One day I was talking about how cold it was in Waite Park and Isaac said, “Will you please stop talking about Minnesota? It makes me miss the snow.” Sebastian also asked more than once when it was going to be “snow-time.”

This week we got a bit of snow. And it was very obvious I was not in Minnesota anymore. The younger three boys are at my mom and dad’s house and Isaac and Stephen and I were busy with school work. When I looked out the window the street was covered with snow. I decided to go ahead and go exercise at the YMCA which is about five minutes away. Everything was fine until I got to the main road where already cars were crawling along at about five miles an hour. Fifteen minutes later I got to the Y where I was told they would be closing in thirty minutes.  I did a short run and left at noon. It took thirty minutes to get home. Schools were closing, buses were canceled cars were parked on the streets as people gave up on driving and walked home. Children and teachers spent the night in schools. It was a mess, this two inches of snow.IMG_1152

But it is pretty, assuming you aren’t stuck in traffic. I’m sorry the younger three boys missed it, though it sounds like they are having a great time of their own.  Isaac bundled up and went out to play on his own for a while. I put Stephen in a sleeping bag in his wheelchair and pushed him out to the driveway where he happily ate the snow off the car. IMG_6474 IMG_6473

We made snow ice-cream.  IMG_1156 IMG_1155

Today I got out the sleds and pulled them both around before putting them on the snow-covered trampoline where Stephen scooted around in his sleeping bag,  talked to Isaac, and ate more snow.IMG_6475

Perhaps tomorrow the roads will be clear and I can retrieve my other children who have gained an extra day with Nonie and Grandpa due to the weather.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

