February Beach Trip

This past weekend we headed down to  Gulf Shores so I could run my first half marathon. For some reason I had engrained in my mind the race was on Saturday, so we made sure we got into town early enough on Friday so I could pick up my registration packet. It was then I discovered the race was scheduled for Sunday.  It was a little disappointing. I was ready to go. But Saturday was a beautiful day and we spent it relaxing over books, a game of Monopoly, a good lunch, a nice afternoon at the beach, and movie night. I received an email Saturday night from the race administrators saying the weather forecast didn’t look good but we would proceed as scheduled until further notice.

Gabriel had a little adventure in the night. He woke up around 3:30 and thought I was leaving. Wanting to watch me go, he put on his shoes and headed out the door. I awoke to the sound of velcro shoes and the door opening and closing. I jumped out of bed and looked outside. Jack was half awake on the couch so I asked him if someone had gone out. He didn’t think so.  I didn’t see anyone outside so I locked the door and went back to bed. Jack came in stating he heard a noise outside. I got up again to look, and there was Gabriel standing at the door.  He didn’t seem at all upset by it all and was tucked back into bed with clear instructions not to go outside, that I would kiss him when I left.

Before I went back to sleep the thunder and lightning had already begun and continued as I woke and dressed for the race. It was pouring and roads were flooded. I got to the race starting place and soon learned the half marathon had been cancelled. They were trying to see if the weather would let up so they could do a shorter race, so I waited around a while. Eventually they decided the storm wasn’t going to stop, so we all enjoyed the post race food and went home. So I am now the possessor of a half marathon medal and t-shirt which will stay tucked away until I actually run one.

It was a fun weekend nevertheless.  Here are a few pictures of our time at the beach.IMG_1220 IMG_1222 IMG_1226 IMG_1234

Isaac

Isaac

Stephen

Stephen

IMG_1239 IMG_1244 IMG_1246

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

