Six Flags Over Georgia

IMG_1762

Gabriel and I with the Mind-Bender in the background.

 

Yesterday Gabriel and I got up and drove to Atlanta to spend the day together at Six Flags. The four oldest boys signed up for the Six Flags Reading Program which let them (and me as their teacher) earn a free ticket to the park. I decided since Gabriel is too short to ride some of the rides the older boys can do we would go separately.  I  think the last time I had that much one-on-one time with Gabriel was when he was in the hospital as a baby.  We had such a good time.

I was impressed by his bravery on the rides. He squealed with nervousness and excitement and held my hand as we would get closer to our turn in line. We chatted as we walked around the park and stood in line together. Groups of teenagers commented on how cute he was. My favorite ride was probably the water slide we rode together on in the inner tube. After a few roller coaster types of rides we ventured to the water park and this ride was, in Gabriel’s words, “The first ride that didn’t make me scream.” He braved the other water slides on his own and loved them.

The water park closed when we were almost ready to go because of lightning. On the way out we passed the Scream Machine and decided to ride. We decided it was well-named. Gabriel deliberated whether or not he wanted to ride the Mind-Bender and decided in favor of it, braving the first roller coaster he has ridden that went upside down. When we got off he stated, “That really did bend my mind.” I agreed, feeling a little dizzy.  We finished out the day with some gentler rides and didn’t leave until the park closed.

He had not been interested in eating all day, so we stopped after we left the park for some dinner and ice cream.   Gabriel was impressed that the man in the bathroom guessed he had been at Six Flags all day.  Once we got back in the car Gabriel said, “I think I’ll try to sleep now.” He was out in about 2 minutes.IMG_1744 IMG_1757 IMG_1743 IMG_1741 IMG_1739 IMG_1733 IMG_1728

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Gabriel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

