A Last Minute Trip

On August 2nd, one of my dearest friends in Minnesota got married. I had resigned myself to not going to the wedding since I was already planning a trip there the end of September, but as the day drew closer and Cheryl told me of her preparations, I decided I couldn’t miss it. I called my parents to see if they could keep the boys, wrote my friends the Stewarts for a place to stay, and left on Thursday afternoon to drive to my parents’ house in Kentucky. Friday morning I kissed them goodbye and jumped in the car for my first solo drive to Minnesota. I enjoyed the drive–thinking in the quiet and listening to books on cd. I arrived at Liz and David’s house just after 8:00 and they gave me the best offer anyone could give after 12 hours in the car: the offer to take a walk. We enjoyed a walk around one of the nearby lakes and then headed for bed.

Saturday morning I got in a run before heading off to the church for the wedding. The ceremony was wonderful, the most fun I have ever been to. I laughed and cried and was encouraged and amazed at the grace of God and how he works in our lives. And I received a gift I had not anticipated: receiving once more the Lord’s Supper from the hand of my dear friend who has fed me much of God.  It was such a blessing to be able to be there.

I enjoyed time at the reception catching up with friends from church, spent the evening with Liz over an amazing dinner, and relaxed in the quiet before going to bed. Sunday I returned to Church of the Cross for morning worship before heading home. It was so encouraging to listen to Molly describe the church’s beginnings almost ten years ago and to see the work that God has done and to dream of our own new little church here. And to top it all off I got the unexpected surprise of seeing my friend Lucy who happened to be at church that morning because her husband was giving a ministry update! After church I headed back to my parents’ house where more fun awaited. I’ll save that for the next post.

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

