Six Flags Trip

IMG_1775

The end of July I made a second trip to Six Flags over Georgia, this time with Isaac, Stephen, and Jack.  There was a great deal of preparation for this trip. Having heard about the rides from Gabriel, there was a good bit of studying of each ride description and measuring to see which rides they were tall enough to ride and which they weren’t.

We arrived at the park shortly after opening. It was much more crowded than when Gabriel and I were there and the rides for the roller coasters were long, but even after standing in the line for Dare Devil for over an hour, they proclaimed the ride was worth it. For them the agony was the long wait. For me it was watching and rewatching the straight climb up and then fall of the roller coaster over and over again.  But the wait came to and end and we all survived. Lest you think I’m too much of a chicken, here is a picture of the climb:IMG_1777

We had a great time on the roller coasters and at the water park. The boys aren’t yet 54″ so they could ride the smaller rides as well. The highlight of the trip for me was when they rode a small kids ride in Bugs Bunny World. They had all gotten into their seats when a young boy came to the seat beside Stephen and found he wasn’t tall enough to get in the seat without help. Stephen without a word hopped out of his seat and lifted the boy up. I almost cried, I was so proud.

IMG_1767

The water park was a lot of fun for all of us. Unfortunately we ran out of time before we ran out of rides. We did sneak in Monster’s Mansion just before the park closed. We had tried earlier in the day but it broke when we were halfway through the line. I told them to make a list for next year which rides to ride first.

Jack barely made the cutoff to ride Acrophobia, a terrifying free fall. I proclaimed my love for him, but told him ahead of time that he was on his own for that ride. He agreed, but due to long lines we ran out of time at the park before he could ride. We watched it take a final fall before we left the park and I told him perhaps next year Isaac and Stephen could ride with him. We stopped on the way home for dinner and ice-cream. Stephen stayed awake the whole way home and talked with me.

It was a fun day together. I find it hard to believe sometimes that I have boys old enough to go roller coaster riding with. These are the three who used to not leave my side. They are growing up so fast. I am so glad to be their momma.IMG_1769 IMG_1770 IMG_1778

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Isaac, Jack, Stephen, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

