A last minute trip, part 2.

I am running a bit behind at getting posts finished, so I’m playing catch up today. In August I took a delightful trip to Minnesota for my friend’s wedding. The boys were happily engaged at my parents’ house over the weekend, swimming, going to a bounce house, watching a movie at the riverside, and eating as much as my mom will let them.

I rejoined them at the house about 1:30 in the morning on Monday and gladly crawled into bed. Monday we went out for lunch and did a couple of errands. Mom took Jack and Gabriel birthday shopping, and we relaxed around the house in order to catch our breath. Tuesday morning we were back in action.

After breakfast Mom, the boys, and I hopped in the car and headed to Kentucky Down Under for an afternoon of exploring. We toured a small cave. I confess to wondering if the hard hats and flash lights were there just for the children’s fun, but soon discovered there were no lights in the cave. After hitting my head on the protruding rocks twice in spite of the guide’s warning, I was very glad for the hard hat.

IMG_6690IMG_6695IMG_6693IMG_6694

We admired the birds and fed the very hungry lorikeets multiple times.

IMG_6704 IMG_6703 IMG_6702 IMG_6699 IMG_6698

We pet the kangaroos and laughed at the joey’s feet sticking up out of the mama’s pouch. IMG_6722 IMG_6709 IMG_6730 

We watched a dog herd sheep and milked a cow. IMG_6716 IMG_6714 IMG_6711 

We had a great time together.IMG_6736

About Wendy McCollum

I am a single mom to five wonderful boys. Life is an adventure, with many twists and turns. We live in hope, always, for our great God can redeem all things. There are so many funny and precious moments that slip by too fast. Perhaps here I can save them for when my own memory fails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

